The Role Of Chennai Super Kings In the Indian Premier League

The Role Of Chennai Super Kings In the Indian Premier League

Chennai Super Kings is one of the most consistent cricket teams in the IPL history, and they are the only team that has made the playoffs a total of eleven times. The India Cements Ltd company owns the CSK team, and the owner bought it for INR 382 crores in 2008. They bought Mahendra Singh Dhoni as their captain in the first-ever mega auctions. Fantasy cricket sports lovers also choose MS Dhoni as one of the players while forming their virtual team. Chennai is the only IPL team with the same captain for all the seasons.

CSK won its first IPL title in 2020 and followed it up with another title in 2011. They were not part of the IPL for 2016 and 2017, but they made a roaring comeback in the 2018 IPL and won their third IPL title. Chennai Super Kings failed to qualify for the playoffs in the 2020 IPL season, but they also went on to win their fourth IPL title in 2021. The top five Fantasy cricket players of Chennai for IPL 2021 as per the points are Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, and Moeen Ali. 

History Of Chennai Super Kings:

The team generated a lot of excitement among cricket enthusiasts after buying MS Dhoni for a record price. They started the inaugural IPL season very well and showed what is in store for the future. Chennai made it to the knockouts in 2009, but their overall consistency throughout the tournament was exceptional.

They outplayed Mumbai Indians in the 2010 final match to win their first IPL title, and it has become the only team to win two successive IPL titles. After that, they qualified for playoffs every time till 2015 but failed to add another title to their name. Then CSK made an epic comeback in 2018 with all the retained core players and achieved their third IPL title by investing in inexperienced players. 

Read Also: Office Ally and Azalea EHR: All Details!

CSK made it to the finals but lost it in 2019 and finished seventh in the league stage of the 2020 season. It is the first time in their IPL history that they could not make it to the playoffs. However, the team again defeated Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2021 finals to win a record-fourth IPL crown. The home ground of Chennai Super Kings is the MA Chidambaram Stadium, popularly known as Chepauk. It is the oldest stadium in India, with a seating capacity of 50,000.

Retained Players Of Chennai Super Kings In 2022 IPL:

The original eight IPL teams can have four players for the next IPL tournament. Chennai franchise retained all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja (INR 16 crores), MS Dhoni (INR 12 crores), Moeen Ali (INR 8 crores), and Ruturaj Gaikwad (INR 6 crores) before the mega auctions in 2022.  

At present, the vice-chairman of the India Cements Ltd company is N. Srinivasan, who also became the de-facto owner of the Chennai team. The company held the rights to the franchise for the first ten years. However, after the controversial two-year suspension, the company did not transfer its rights to a separate entity but wanted to retain its ownership.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.